How to Become a Wizard with Cherry Magic!

Oh, Cherry Magic, how I will miss you! Your angst and your miscommunications, your fluffy dreams and wishes. The show didn’t go quite as explicit as I’d been hoping for, but that’s okay. I don’t mind imagining all the gritty details now that our couples are actually couples, complete with reciprocated understandings of what it is they feel for one another and want for the future.

As I mentioned in my first impressions post, it’s been quite a while since I last watched a yaoi romance. I can’t even remember the last title I saw, even if we’ve been treated to several yuri series over the past seasons. That’s not a slight to the yuri at all; it’s simply an observation that we really don’t get that many yaoi in anime form. Please, water us! We’re parched!

I’d originally thought the entire premise of powers gifted through thirty years of virginity a unique premise, but was informed that is not the case. Regardless, I don’t personally come across the phenomenon and so found it well implemented here if not a bit out of nowhere since there’s no source provided for the powers and its loss is brushed off after only a small amount of existential crisis on Adachi’s part. The “wizardry” here simply makes the seemingly impossible possible, with the idea that if Adachi had never gotten them, then the relationship might never have occurred. That’s too forbidding in my opinion, though. I like to think they’d have gotten there eventually on their own.

A large part of why I enjoyed this series so much was that it covered not just one, but two separate couples. The heavy lifting is done by Adachi and Kurosawa, but there’s enough coverage of Masato and Minato to keep my split interest intact. It helps that everyone kind of knows everyone in this world, too. They overlap and intermingle in wonderfully awkward and heartwarming ways. I walked away from the ending filled with optimism. What better final impression is there to have?

Rating: 1 dango


*Rating system:

  • 0 dango – average and forgettable.
  • 1 dango – very good in its category.
  • 2 dango – excellent show that is worth a try.
  • 3 dango – exceptional show one must watch.

Let's talk: