The Unwanted Undead Adventurer’s Lessons on Humanity

At a glance, this show has nothing to separate it from the masses of other generic fantasy other than the protagonist. But, even there, who am I kidding? We’ve already had every type of storyteller under the sun, from spiders, to pigs, and even to vending machines. In light of those examples, an undead main character is nothing special, right? You wouldn’t be wrong to assume that, because from start to finish, that’s who this show is all about. But you know what? That’s fine. That’s more than fine. Rentt Faina is a story all on his own.

When we go back to the beginning to where Rentt’s journey began, we have a mysterious “dragon” to thank for his death and subsequent reincarnation into a skeleton. There’s no explanation for why this happens, nor is there any particular interest on his part to figure that out. He accepts his lot in death and moves on to see what he can do with his new existence. Admirable, isn’t it? I wish I had even a smidgen of that self-motivation most days.

I’m actually reminded a bit here of another winter show this season, Solo Leveling. There, as well as here, we have a protagonist who formerly felt stuck on a plateau—no matter how much they applied themselves to their own improvement, how much knowledge they amassed, they still ended up with very little to show for it. That all changes once they each transform, respectively, and Rentt realizes that each time he defeats an enemy, he gets stronger. His progress improves based on the differences in level between himself and his opponent, encouraging him to seek out tougher enemies. Again, there’s no clear indicator here of just how much experience is needed for his next transformation; it just happens. He jumps from skeleton to ghoul very early on in the series. 

In addition to Rentt’s personality, I also enjoyed his relationships with various characters around him, most particularly the one with close friend and scholar Lorraine Vivie. There’s no hesitation on his part when he goes to her that she’ll turn him away; he trusts her implicitly just as she does he. Even when he attacks her in the throes of bloodlust, she still retains belief in his humanity. I know many of her fans adore her for completely unrelated reasons (cough, that rack, cough), but it’s her brilliant mind and heart that captured my attention most of all.

Other characters pass through with their own needs and motivations, each of them gaining something of worth from their time spent with Rentt. What I love is that despite his disguise, there are those who recognize him from the past solely on his kindness towards others, a compassion that persists even in death.

The goal is clear from Rentt’s first transformation. The closest he can get to physical humanity is as a vampire; there isn’t even a question about whether he’ll ever be able to regain life. Again, I really like that acceptance of reality and focus on the remaining options. If more people give this one a chance, there’s a high chance they’ll be pleasantly surprised by how much they enjoy following Rentt’s journey.

Rating: 1 dango


*Rating system:

  • 0 dango – average and forgettable.
  • 1 dango – very good in its category.
  • 2 dango – excellent show that is worth a try.
  • 3 dango – exceptional show one must watch.

4 thoughts on “The Unwanted Undead Adventurer’s Lessons on Humanity

  1. I’m in a unique position, in terms of me doing my lame episode review (nabbed all the screen caps) as I’ve actually got the first three light novel volumes, I haven’t read them yet. And pretty much the reason you gave on why Lorraine is well liked *cough* those racks *cough*, her personality lightly reminds me of someone I speak to often on discord, also I love how semi playful she is on expressing her feelings towards the very dense Rentt, who is literally the straight man. The odd times I did watch it, in an attempt to not to spoil it, I found myself enjoying (I muted the tab). The irony with Rentt, he peaked as a human, but will surpass that as an undead.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I apologize for my reply to your comment being so late; I was on vacation! Better late than never, right? 😛 How lucky for you to know someone as playful as Lorraine–she’s really such a great character. I hope that you didn’t spoil yourself too much and can enjoy the light novels and do read them!

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Yeah, I was surprised by how much I liked this series! I liked that the MC biggest remarkable trait was not his unrealistically perfect face, his over powered skills or abilities, it was his kindness to others and a willingness to take noobies under his wing and help them. I also liked his humility, even though he’s an old veteran to adventuring and everyone knows and likes him, he never takes that for granted and is always thankful for anyone that will accept him in his new undead state. And I totally agree with you, I really liked that he was optimistic, but also realistic about his condition. He accepts that he’s one of the undead now, but he still is trying to be the best dead person he can be!

    Liked by 2 people

    • I’m so sorry for my late reply to you, as well! You always leave such lovely comments for me ❤ His humility is really one of the best qualities he has, and one he retains despite his change. He's exactly the kind of person I'd love to have as a friend.

      Liked by 1 person

Let's talk: