Winter 2024 Taste Test: The Weakest Tamer Began a Journey to Pick Up Trash

If there’s one word to sum up my feelings regarding this anime, it’s “puzzlement.” I’m puzzled by the quality of the art and animation, the genuinely pretty styling that lends my eyes visuals pleasing enough to hold my attention despite finding the main (and only) character completely yawn-worthy.

The facts:

  • Format: TV
  • Episode count: 12
  • Studio: Studio Massket
  • Source: Light novel
  • Genres: Fantasy

I didn’t really know what to expect walking into this show at the start other than noting the generic title. If we’ve got the strangest tamer out there, why not the weakest, as well? The only part that intrigued me was the part about picking up trash. Was this going to be some pro-reduce, reuse, and recycling propaganda, the sort I would 100% back? 

Not really.

What we have here is the result of aggressive pruning, where a village of magic users banish a young girl for not being quite magic enough. She does have power; it just isn’t powerful enough to warrant keeping alive, apparently. How ridiculous.

All of this information we pick up through the girl’s musings which I assumed were targeted at us, the viewer. It isn’t until she directly addresses the secondary persona within her body that we learn that she hosts an isekai character, someone we never see or hear for ourselves. It’s disorienting, to say the least, and not particularly enjoyable? I suppose I appreciate the effort to try and differentiate this work from other isekai. 

She spends the entire episode talking to herself, her inner isekai, and eventually to the rare slime she finds in the middle of nowhere. With the first half centered on the stress of evading capture and likely execution (damn, are they persistent in hunting down a little girl who supposedly has no worth), and the second on identifying and protecting the slime, I almost fell asleep. I would have thought fleeing for her life would have been enough to keep me on the edge of my seat, but not even that is enough to shrug off the overall slow pace of this show.

I’m not interested in this girl, dubbed “Ivy” by her isekai friend, her second personality, or the slime she ends up saving. I don’t care that this slime is rare specifically because of its extraordinarily weak constitution, with lifespans recorded as short as a day. Are we to take her definition of “trash” as the creatures she magically binds in a contract? Sorry, I’d rather dive deep into the waste management system of a random kingdom than this.

Watch on: Crunchyroll

Status: Dropped

2 thoughts on “Winter 2024 Taste Test: The Weakest Tamer Began a Journey to Pick Up Trash

  1. One man’s trash, is another man’s treasure as they say. I’m enjoying the series. Seeing Ivy being self-sufficient, and not depending on her star level, unlike the rest of the dumb-ass villagers, who got their just dessert of seeing their crop fail.

    Like

Let's talk: