Winter 2024 Taste Test: Hokkaido Gals Are Super Adorable!

Hokkaido gals are super adorable, and so are Tokyo boys like Tsubasa Shiki. Keep in mind, however, that this anime is unquestionably ecchi. You will be treated to unrealistic bust sizes defying gravity and prodigious ass shots. The protagonist is horny af, and so is the camera. Normally, I’d be repulsed by the overt gaze that leaves no question to the priority of this show, but I can’t help but feel charmed by Tsubasa’s genuine shock and appreciation. I completely understand Minami’s impulse to ruffle his feathers at every opportunity if the reactions continue to be as flattering as they were in the first episode alone.

The facts:

  • Format: TV
  • Episode count: 12
  • Studio: BLADE, SILVER LINK.
  • Source: Manga
  • Genres: Comedy, romance

The premise: Work brings Tsubasa’s family out to Hokkaido, away from the Tokyo city life he’s known his entire life. The culture clash is real, with his first exposure to his new home stemming from a fatal mistake. The instant he told the taxi driver to drop him off in Hokkaido’s winter, I knew he was in for a horrid awakening. So much of what he experiences reminds me of growing up in Alaska: the far distances to anything convenient, the lack of public transportation, the dearth of pedestrians. Everything is just too far away to not drive or have a schedule in place minimizing your time outside. The idea that he’d just walk to the next town from his drop-off point is laughable.

I love her.

Luckily, he runs into Minami while she waits at the bus stop, setting off a charming little meet cute that also serves as Tsubasa’s re-evaluation of assumptions about the people who live in Hokkaido. I did find it annoying that he immediately pegged Minami as a gyaru just because of her looks, blonde and revealing more skin than might be advisable in the cold climate. I remember being young and going to school wearing flip-flops despite the snow and ice. Was it smart? No. It was the in thing to do at the time. Maybe he would have thought me dumb, or vain, but that just proves appearances aren’t everything.

Minami sets him in his place with her immediate interest and concern for someone who obviously knows nothing about the area. She does so with a kindness and playfulness that instantly puts her on my friend list. She is more than long legs and big boobs, and I hope Tsubasa figures that out before taking her kindness for granted.

Keep in mind that this anime is unquestionably going to continue with its lewd gaze. The title alone should make that clear. We’ll be ogling girls right alongside Tsubasa. I’m okay with that as long as he remains respectful. I can appreciate beauty in many forms and am currently enjoying the familiar setting so reminiscent of where I grew up. I’m also having fun with the flirty dialogue and scenarios so far; whether or not that remains true for the coming episodes, we shall see.

Also, snot isn’t cute. I don’t care how well it’s animated. Gross.

Hanging out at people’s homes as the only thing to do is SO RELATABLE

Watch on: Crunchyroll

Status: Watching (for now)

Let's talk: