12 Days of Anime – #12 New Directions for 2017

(hibike! euphonium) drawn by hado maiko
(hibike! euphonium) drawn by hado maiko

Merry Christmas!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Whew, we made it. I wasn’t sure if it was going to happen, but here we are. Thank you for sticking with me. I mulled over what I wanted to discuss for the last day of “12 Days of Anime,” whether I’d pick my favorite from the year (which I actually covered on the first day), or touch on a central theme from 2016. Instead, we’re getting personal and looking at the path Anime B&B will take starting with the new year.

I hinted at this earlier, but 2017 will be an exciting and terrifying start for me. I left my desk job last month in preparation of my three-week honeymoon over the Christmas holidays and will head in a new direction once we get back home. I studied English composition and literature during my undergraduate and graduate years, but have not fully focused on writing since moving to Seattle almost four years ago. Now that I have this opportunity to try and apply myself to what I truly care about, you will be seeing much more content.

Anime B&B Plans

My goals upon returning in January include the following:

  • Weekly blog posts at a minimum, working up to 2-3 per week of varying content if possible – I want to include more of my interests, like recipes inspired by different shows I’ve watched, editorials, and episodic reviews of my favorite series
  • More collaboration with others in the anime community (think podcasts, blogging carnivals, guest blogging, etc.)
  • Possibly re-branding Anime B&B to something more unique – I started this site with very little familiarity with blogging in general and I’ve never been satisfied with the name or theme

If you have a certain type of post you would like to see more of, please do let me know. When I first started, my writing was more academic with research and analysis. These past couple of years I haven’t had the time or energy to do much more than personal opinions or anecdotes.

Personal Projects

Much of my writing you won’t actually see on this blog since it will center more on my goals to publish fictional short stories and, hopefully, novels. I have a handy, dandy daily schedule to follow that will split my time between blogging here and writing elsewhere. I won’t go into too much detail here since it will be non-anime related, but some of my literary inspirations include writers like Neil Gaiman, Amy Tan, Ursula K. Le Guin, Genevieve Cogman, Garth Nix, and Brandon Mull.


Thank you for following with me over these past twelve days! I wish you a wonderful holiday season, and look forward to beginning anew with you all in the new year. Eat lots, stay warm, and keep on reading!
Database – https://goo.gl/cMrE7z
Registration Form – https://goo.gl/vSs3vn
Survival Pack – https://goo.gl/z9XRj4
#12DaysAnime #12DaysofAnime
7 thoughts on “12 Days of Anime – #12 New Directions for 2017

  1. Merry Christmas, Marina! I wish you luck in enriching your blog and publishing novels and short stories. I’ve only ever gotten one of my stories published and almost got a novel published. It’s hard work but very satisfying. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! And wow, even just getting one short story published is quite the achievements. Congrats on that! Now that I’m back from vacation and getting warmed up again in writing, I need to really apply myself to a schedule with deadlines to keep me productive. Any advice helps 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks! I’m not sure if I have much new advice: the most important things are to write every day and constantly read books and stories in the genre one wants to write. Then, one should try other venues besides well known publishers and literary journals. My short story was published in a writing contest held for the first time that year. (I would direct you to it, but that short story contest has became defunct, and the related novel contest is slowly being killed by its own creator through expanding it to cover non-fiction also, which he probably prefers anyway.) The Novel and Short Story Writer’s Market is an invaluable tool for learning about such things.

        Liked by 1 person

Let's talk:

