Log Horizon and the Lazy, Cowardly Princess

“No proper princess would come out looking for dragons,” Woraug objected.

“Well I’m not a proper princess then!” Cimorene snapped. “I make cherries jubillee and I volunteer for dragons, and I conjugate Latin verbs– or at least I would if anyone would let me. So there!”
―Patricia C. Wrede, Dealing with Dragons

Much of what I imagine about princesses stems from Disney movies and fairy tale stories: they’re young, beautiful, magical, loved, and live happily ever after.  While there are more instances of stories featuring headstrong princesses these days–favorites including books like Dealing with Dragons, movies like Brave, and TV series like Once Upon a Time–I still don’t automatically think of the modern woman when “princess” is uttered.

When I took Zimbino’s “Which Disney Princess Are You?” quiz, I ended up with Aurora–which I couldn’t help but balk against given her passivity. From birth, she is helpless to the curse given to her and does little to fight her fate. There’s an even darker version of the tale where the sleeping princess is raped by a passing king and only wakes after she has given birth to twins. Her story is more like a horror story than the happy ending we’ve come to expect from fairy tales.

The introduction of Log Horizon’s Lenessia looks much like any powerless princess.  She passes each day like she’s sleepwalking; she smiles and pleases viewers, but ultimately does nothing worthwhile.  It’s no wonder that by the time that Crusty meets her she already has resigned herself to a lifetime of meaninglessness.  But through their interactions and his continual baldfaced honesty, Lenessia comes to realize just how tasteless her days have been thus far, and how much more the world has to offer her.  When the moment came for her to decide between continuing her quiet, sheltered lifestyle and coming forward with the truth of the legendary Izumo Knights, not only does she do the latter, but she follows through with a truly noble proposal of diplomacy with herself as Eastal’s representative to the District of Akihabara.

“I’m just a stupid girl so I don’t really understand politics. But I think when you ask someone for something you should show respect…I learned from my grandfather that showing respect doesn’t mean using fancy words.”
–Lenessia, “A Lazy, Cowardly Princess”, Log Horizon

Lenessia’s request to go to the Adventurers in a gesture of peace to request aid in the war against the goblins seems like common sense, and I’d be tempted to attribute it to the predictability of NPC characters in any world-scale event.  However, the reality of the situation is that this isn’t the world that our main characters, the Adventurers, grew to know through regular game play. From the very first episode, we’ve known that our players are stuck in an MMORPG, unable to log out or contact anyone outside of the game. While game knowledge is helpful to surviving Elder Tale, unpredictable elements keep occurring that defy all logic; not even Shiroe’s intellect and background knowledge of the game can prepare him for how the NPCs have evolved and how ignored quests have turned into world events that threaten everyone’s way of life. And unlike Adventurers, the People of the Land cannot revive. Even knowing this, Lenessia chose to venture alone with the Akihabara representatives back to their city and make her plea. Her bravery impresses me, as well as makes me wonder just how different the Adventurers and the People of the Land truly are now that the game has become their reality.

At the start of this arc of the Goblin King’s Return, the princess allowed herself to be a vision of nobility–inaccessible and ineffective.  Now that we are nearing the clash between armies, she has turned into a more tangible vision of war, complete with skimpy armor and a passionate following. I’m wondering whether she’ll continue to remain removed from the front lines or if she’ll actually take part in the defense of Eastal. And if the goblin king is successfully thrown down and trade between Eastal and the various Adventurer districts  flourishes, perhaps the travel gates will somehow be activated for fast access to other formerly unreachable parts of the world.

“I am cowardly, lazy, and little more than a decoration that can’t think for itself, but I am going to fight! So, if I may ask, if any of you would still be all right with that, would you please join me? Would you fight for me, in the name of your good will and freedom?” –Lenessia, “Expeditionary Force”, Log Horizon

So venture forth, Lenessia Erhart Cowen, and redefine what it is to be a princess!

8 thoughts on “Log Horizon and the Lazy, Cowardly Princess

  1. Okay I’m gonna be honest right of the bat and admit I’m not 100% sure this isn’t a game. I mean I think it’s an anime that takes place in a game but I admit confusion.

    On point I to love seeing a stronger take on princesses. Women in general I love seeing some stronger characters. That alone has me curious here assuming it’s an anime.

    Lastly you settling in to blogging again? That’d be good news.

    Like

    • Haha, I can always say that yes, I’m settling back into blogging, but I’m honestly still working back into the blogging groove.

      Log Horizon is an anime that started airing in the fall and is about people who play an MMORPG and are unable to log out. If you’ve seen SAO, then this is a similar idea.

      Like

      • I agree that it shares the same original idea as SAO, however, i personally think that Log Horizon is much better, and takes a drastically different approach.

        Like

      • For sure, Log Horizon comes at the setting much differently than SAO, and has far different intentions. I’m not sure where we’re going to end up now that we’re approaching the end of the season and so many questions are still left open. Perhaps there will be a second season?

        Like

    • I don’t know if I’d call it ‘amazing’, but what it is is ‘solid.’ It’s not gimmicky, it’s not flashy, it’s not even that full of grand adventures. Sure, there are some people doing heroic things, but considering the setting, you’d expect them to. They’re essentially people in a world of heroes.

      I don’t know if my perspective on the show is different from others as a longtime WoW player, but for me I find it a good exploration of what would actually happen if ordinary people got stuck in a different world. It’s been pretty much everything that SAO was not: people buckling down and figuring out how to live, innovate, provide meaning. Very little angst and moaning about the situation they’re in.

      So what the show ends up being is entertaining, and nice and thoughtful about people just living their lives. One of my favorite themes is the near obliteration of the line between ‘real people’ and ‘NPCs’. The People of the Land are every bit of ‘people’ in the world they’re in, and it really hasn’t taken too long for the adventurers to accept that.

      Like

      • I really do commend Log Horizon on fulfilling my expectations, which weren’t high to begin with, but did have certain desires given the genre and setting. I never got into WoW, but do dabble a lot in GW2, and like you, the mentality of the players feels somewhat realistic to me.

        In vein with the relationship between the Adventurers and the People of the Land is my ship of Lenessia and Crusty. I think they’d make a great method of alliance between the two population types. And as Crusty has already admitted to having lost a bit of his real life memory, perhaps falling in love will be a good experiment to seeing just how involved a player can get into Elder Tale.

        Like

    • I wouldn’t call Log Horizon amazing or ground breaking, but it does follow through on the expectations that I had for it, which is already huge for me given that SAO totally ruined the hopes it gave me from its pilot. The arc are a good number of episodes but don’t drag on, and I particularly like the focus on the NPCs right now.

      Like

Please tell me what you think!

