Ginger-marinated, Pan-roasted Dera

There’ve been some mixed opinions on Tamako Market’s unique bird, Dera Mochimazui, but I don’t think anyone would argue that his weight gain makes him roughly equal in size to a small chicken.  Mixed with just the right ingredients, I think we’re well on our way to a dish worthy of any island prince or mochi princess.

For those of you unfamiliar, there’s a particular episode in the anime where Kana checks Dera’s overeating with an ominous list: “…soy sauce, mirin, garlic, a shake of ginger, marinate overnight.”  The Dera of the first episode and the Dera of all those after are like two completely different birds, and comically enough, his confidence in love hasn’t suffered one bit despite his heavy proportions.  I admire him for that, but at the same time drool a little while looking at him and remembering Kana’s cooking instructions.  Among the many foods I love, chicken must always be juicy, and tastes great with a crisp skin!

Chicken in Soy Sauce, Mirin, Garlic, and Ginger (Serves 3)
Source: Tamako Market ep. 8, “Can’t Call Me a Chicken Anymore”

Ingredients:

  • 3 bone-in chicken thighs and legs with skin (or 4 breasts)
  • 3 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 6 tablespoons mirin
  • 1 teaspoon grated ginger
  • 1 teaspoon minced garlic
  • Vegetable oil

Equipment:

  • Gallon-sized ziploc bag
  • Cast-iron pan

Directions:

  • Mix the soy sauce, mirin, ginger, and garlic in a ziploc bag and place in the chicken.
  • Marinate in the fridge for at least 2 hours, or overnight.
  • When ready to begin cooking, you can save the leftover marinade to make a sauce.
  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  • In a large cast-iron skillet, heat enough vegetable oil to coat the pan over medium high heat.
  • Place the chicken skin down in the pan and cook for about 5 minutes, or until the skin begins to crisp.
  • Carefully gripping the handle with a mitt or towel, transfer the entire pan to the oven and bake for about 25 minutes, or until the meat is cooked through.
  • While the chicken is baking, prep side dishes like veggies and/or rice.
  • When ready, remove the pan and set the chicken aside onto a warming plate.
  • For a sauce, keep the chicken drippings in the cast-iron pan and pour in the leftover marinade.  Cook over medium heat until the mixture reduces to the desired consistency.  The sauce is very strong and can be overly salty for some, so use a little at a time.
  • Serve with the sides of your choosing and set up the next episode of Tamako Market!

    Ginger chicken with jasmine rice and brussel sprouts

And whatever you do, please remember: don’t feed the bird, or I just may come over and serve it right up!

17 thoughts on “Ginger-marinated, Pan-roasted Dera

    • Yay! I’m glad you think so🙂 I love how cooking on a cast-iron gives the meat a nice blackening on the skin. If you ever do try out any of my recipes, you should definitely update me on how they turn out!

      Like

    • It’s beautiful, really, how every time I make this dish I can honor his memory. I can even pass it on to the following generations so he’s never forgotten.

      Like

  1. “Drools” I missed you my self-appointed chef. I was starving for more of those knowledge-based dishes of yours. Hope you’re doing well in real life. Now please excuse me as I feast on your delicious cockatoo a l’orange dish.

    Like

    • I am doing well; thank you for asking🙂 I miss being as active around my blog and being able to watch more anime and cook, but hey, that’s the price of working full-time and making more money!

      Like

      • I will at least look forward to your Tamako Market, Chihayafuru 2 and Hidamari Sketch Graduation reviews when you have time to do them after each one ends.

        Like

      • Wait, my Hida Sketch Graduation review? That hasn’t yet aired, right?
        But yes, I definitely will write my thoughts on the others, though they’ll be compiled as usual in a huge wrap-up of the season.

        Like

Please tell me what you think!

