Shinryaku! Ika Musume – Final Impression

What a great anime to use as the start for this blog >.<  Shinryaku! Ika Musume was probably the biggest surprise for this season and a weekly delight in humor and sheer cuteness.  Hopefully when I re-watch this, I’ll be able to do an entry for each episode, as it’s pretty tough to talk about this series as a whole without referencing almost every single episode. 

Slice-of-life comedies have always held a special place in my heart (Azumanga Daioh, Kamichu! Lucky Star, etc.), so of course this show grabbed my attention from the very first episode.  Similar to many shows of the same genre, Ika Musume is episodic with multiple stories within each episode.  This, coupled with the writer’s ability to keep each and every section independent of repeat humor, kept the anime fresh from episode to episode, which is especially important given the fact that I watched this anime while it was airing.  Nothing hurts my attention to an anime more than watching an anime with an overall plot weekly; since I’m usually watching multiple shows at the same time, it’s hard to keep track of what’s going on, when and where.  With Ika Musume, I could kick back for my weekly 30 minutes and enjoy good laughs and fuzzy feelings.

Graphics (6/10)
The graphics of this show are pretty generic, with the soft colors and simple designs.  One thing I was appreciative of was the consistency of art throughout the episodes.

Plot (9/10)
As stated before, I really loved how each skit was unique in humor and didn’t rely on older jokes to generate laughs.  You can pretty much pick up any episode in any order and still find yourself enjoying Ika-chan’s ridiculous gullibility.  The only reason I don’t give the plot a full 10 is because of the final episode.  Whereas the previous episodes are episodic and don’t really cling to any serious ideas of character or purpose, the last episode suddenly throws in a very serious loss of self.  With reasons unknown, and never given, Ika-chan suddenly loses all her squid abilities: tentacle power, glow, and squid ink.  Her subsequent disappearance doesn’t amount to anything, as she comes back without regaining her skills, nor any hint about why she’s lost them.  This makes her sudden recovery, with the endangerment to Eiko’s life, all the more unbelievable.  I guess I’m supposed to assume that she regains everything because of a sudden realization of her affections for humanity, for the friendships that she has made?

Characters 8/10
Shinryaku! Ika Musume boasts a relatively small cast of characters.  Ika-chan and Chizuru were my favorite characters by far; their weirdness and coolness were in completely different leagues, but still memorable in ways their fellow characters were not.  While Eiko was one of the first introduced characters, I never felt much attachment to her–she lacked any twists to her personality.  However, I didn’t feel any need for more from her.  She was just…there.  The same goes for Takeru.  In fact, I had to look up his name just to talk about him here >.< Cute? Sure, he had his moments.  Memorable? Obviously not.  Cyndi, Sanae, Nagisa, and Ayumi all feel pretty much on the same level; they serve the purpose of promoting Ika-chan’s cuteness.  As such, any attachment I have to them is an attachment to the scenes they share with Ika-chan.

Sound (neutral)
I always have a hard time commenting on sound.  Unless the music was truly unique enough to catch my attention, I don’t really pay attention to it.  The same goes with sound effects.

Overall 7.7/10

For some more overload of cuteness, try doing some image searches of Ika Musume and Tako Luka >.<

7 thoughts on “Shinryaku! Ika Musume – Final Impression

  1. I tried to get into this show, but I just couldn’t. Nothing in it was truly unique to me, but I will get around to finishing it eventually. Personally, I found Panty & Stocking With Garterbelt to be the best series of last season.

    Like

    • I haven’t gotten around to seeing Panty & Stocking w/ Garterbelt, but I have been hearing good things about it. I can also understand where you’re coming from about Ika Musume; I really have to be in the mood to laugh at the antics in the show. Sometimes I’m not feeling it and I don’t laugh at anything, and other times it seems the most ridiculous hilarity ever–hence the 7.7 rating.

      Like

  2. It took me a second to realize which anime you were reviewing here since I’m used to seeing a different title for it. I actually didn’t give this one a shot when it aired to be honest. It just didn’t grab my attention. Your review does make me wonder if I should give it a chance, but I don’t know your taste enough to know how similar we may be.

    I seen the mention of Panty and Stocking with Garterbelt and wonder if you will like it. It does share this anime’s knack for random episodes for the most part, but I suspect the style of humor is worlds apart. I guess I’ll just have to wait and see.

    Like

    • Yeah, I guess an “Invasion! Squid Girl” tag might help things along a bit better >.< I have a bit of a quirky taste in comedic anime, as I seem to dislike a lot of the big names out there (Seitokai no Ichizon, Seto no Hanayome, Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei), and tend to prefer…would you call it maybe gag anime? I'm thinking shows like Azumanga Daioh. I recommend you give the anime a few more episodes before calling it quits.

      As for P&S w/ G, I don't know why I'm so hesitant to try it. Maybe it's the art style that bugs me? It reminds me of certain Cartoon Network shows that I hate for their stupidity and inane, base humor, so that feeling carries over onto any similar art styles. I'll go check it out on Crunchyroll and try to give it a few episodes.

      Like

  3. lol I’m so easily swayed. Alright I’ll give this a fair chance. I honestly didn’t even give this one a chance. It looked too, I don’t know, childish maybe.

    Fair warning P&S w/G is a study in extremes. For all of it’s bubbly cute art style the anime itself is full of rather crude humor. Based off of what you have reviewed thus far I’m not sure if it is quite your style. I’m sure you will blog about it when you get there.

    Like

    • *three cheers!* I really do hope you like it and maybe even write about it, regardless of whether or not you end up enjoying it. I’m pretty silly at heart, which is why I like cute shows like this and Yumeiro Patissiere.

      I actually tried out P&S, just the first episode, and man, it was really hard to get past my bias against the animation. I had also read a scathing review about the show before watching, so that too was hard to ignore. Due to my tendency to pull away from crude humor (I didn’t really enjoy Detroit Metal City), I was a little appalled at the overt sexual jokes in P&S. I guess when it comes to comedy, I usually prefer light-hearted silliness, as opposed to base humor aimed at gender, sex, race, etc. If there is sexual humor, I like it subtle and intelligent. Maybe the brilliance of P&S will come to me after a few more tries.

      Like

  4. I’ll be sure to give you my opinion on it when I watch it. I have three anime to finish and then I’m going to watch Berserk for a friend of mine. Then I’ll watch Shiki and this for you.

    I kind of noticed you tend to like the more silly style of humor. That is why I started kind of warning you about Panty and Stocking. It isn’t that type of humor at all. What you saw in the first episode is what you get through out the series. Some are even worse.

    Like

Please tell me what you think!

